The Morning Star Rising on the First Day

The Meaning of Choice

In my previous posting (Possess-the-Vision) I communicated that I was going to present the spiritual experiences of my life that led to the creation of the Possess the Vision Mission Statement (PTV Mission-Statement.)

 One of the important traditions our family kept was our frequent visits to my grandmother’s house. I rember one such visit that occured when I was still a smal child. My uncle was trying to test my intelligence and to accomplish this he had a test for me. In one hand he held a new shiny dime before me, and in the other a new shiny 1943 steel penny. These war time pennies were made of steel because of copper shortages. These pennies shined just like a dime when new.

So, he held the dime between his right thumb and forefinger and the penny between the left thumb and forefinger. He then carefully explained that the dime was much more valuable than the penny and then placed them boty directly in front of my face. He then asked me to choose the one that I wanted.

My initial move was toward the dime because of what he had told me. But when he saw my move toward the dime he pulled it back a bit and then moved the penny closer and even jiggled it in front of me. Becasue of the movement of the penny it flashed streams of light before my eyes. I thought, gee, the penny sure seems to be much more fun that the dime so I snached it out of his hand.

He then rushed to proclaim my stupidity to everyone in the room, stating that I would never amount to anything. I felt angry and betrayed. Big man!

When I look back at this event today I see that it contains several messages that are applicapable to the Mission Statement of this blog and to our lives as Christians in general.

First of all, life will always present us with choices. Some are good, others are not so good. Some good choices will look undesirable and some not so good choices will look extreemly atractive. It is up to us to discern the truth and make the right choices in life and to therin receive the best possible reward for doing so.

Our life as Christians is based on this principle. In fact, it is the only reason we are here on this earth. Do we choose to do good or evil? Do our lives demonstrate a love for others or are we focused on our own promotion. Do we choose life or death, the light or the darkness, God or the devil?

Jesus the Light of the World is Transfigured before His Disciples

It is in these choices that will determine if we receive a wonderful reward for all of eternity or the horrible consequences of hell forever.

It is up to us to choose. When I look back on my life I can now see that these choices presented themselves over and over again. We will be telling you more about them as we progress with this series.

 

