The Morning Star Rising on the First Day

The Morning Star Rising on the First Day

TWILIGHT ZONE EXPERIENCES

While growing up I enjoyed watching a television program called The Twilight Zone. It often presented stories of supposedly real life experiences that could not be explained by the laws of physics. Certainly, some of the stories I have already shared with you would qualify. Here is an experience that I had that would have been a good candidate for the Twilight Zone TV program.

A LIGHT IN THE NIGHT SKY AT FORT ORD

I was drafted into the army in July 1965 and went through basic training at Fort Knox, Kentucky. After this I was assigned to an infantry training unit at Fort Ord California, where I entered the Advanced Infantry Training (AIT) program.

This is a picture of my unit. I'm in the last row, on the right, the one with the glasses.

This is a picture of my unit. I’m in the last row, on the right, the one with the glasses.

The events that I will now describe took place near the end of my training program, probably November 1965.

While in the AIT program, I learned that everything was done in a pre-specified order and plan. Typically, we would get up between 3:00 and 5:00 a.m., exercise and have breakfast prior to commuting to our daily training facility. This training took place at a different location each day depending on what we had to learn. Some days we would march twenty miles to the training site, and other days we would be transported by truck. If we marched out, we were trucked back—if we were driven out, we marched back. Most training days contained both technical and applied aspects. The training component taught us what we would have to do. This was followed by practical hands-on exercises to gain experience. For example, we may get a lecture and demonstration on how to throw hand grenades. This would be followed by real life exercises on a range. After the training and exercises, we would return to our home base. We had physical exercise again prior to having dinner in the mess hall. By this time, it would be getting dark outside and night would engulf us.

This particular day was Wednesday, our laundry day. So, after dinner all of us would go down to the quartermaster to drop off our dirty laundry and pick up what we had turned in the previous week. I had returned to the billet, stored my clean clothes in my locker, and hung my dirty clothes bag on the end of my bunk. Almost everyone in our unit was going through this same process. By this time our day was gone and it was dark outside.

Just then, I looked through the window and noticed that the street outside of our building was lit up as if a high-powered spotlight was shining on it. As I watched from inside, the light became continuously brighter—like it was the middle of the day. It was then that I noticed beams of light streaming through the window that were so bright that I could see dust particles floating in the air.

The light looked something like this.

The light looked something like this.

I looked out through the window again and saw other soldiers on the street pointing their fingers toward the sky. Since I was unable to see anything from inside, I decided to go outside and take a look for myself.

I walked to an exit door at the other end of the building. There were a number of GI’s standing around the doorway, socializing. I said, “Excuse me guys, I would like to go outside and see what is going on.” But, they just kept talking and no one moved out of the way. It was as if they didn’t hear me. I thought that they were simply preoccupied in conversation so I started move through them by using my body weight and size. When I moved forward and pressed my weight directly into the first guy, I was shocked that I could not get him to budge an inch. I would have had better luck pressing against the building we occupied. I was so overwhelmed with this person’s strength that I took a step back to see if I could recognize him. When I looked at him all I noticed was that he was not moving. It was as if he was frozen stiff like a mannequin. This shocked me. I looked at his face. His eyes did not blink and they stared in one fixed direction. Then, I noticed that everything was quiet. I turned my head and took a look around the room. I looked at the other guys who were standing around the door and talking just a few seconds ago. They were frozen as well. I looked back down to the far end of the billet and everyone was completely motionless. It was as if time had stopped. I felt that I was in a DVD movie and some one pressed the pause button.

Suddenly, everything started moving again, just like someone pressed the play button. Talking resumed in mid-sentence. Everyone picked up where they had left off. I eventually worked my way to the door and outside. The bright light had retreated back into the sky and the light of day had turned back to darkness. Only a faint glow remained in the sky and it quickly vanished. I watched until it eventually faded away completely. It appeared to me that the bright light was moving straight up until it got so far away that it disappeared completely. I asked one of the guys standing on the porch what he had seen. He said that a glaring light had appeared in the sky and that it had come straight down toward earth, getting brighter as it drew closer. Then it had stopped moving and stayed suspended in motion for a while. When it began moving again it went straight up into the sky the way it came down.

I was perplexed that this happened without my knowing the reason. Why was I not frozen like the others? Or, was I? What could this have been and why? One possililty is that it could have been an angel coming down to Earth. The following scripture  made me believe that this may have been the case:

Matthew 28:2 – 4 And behold, there was a great earthquake; for an angel of the Lord descended from heaven, and came and rolled back the stone from the door, and sat on it. His counte- nance was like lightning, and his clothing as white as snow. And the guards shook for fear of him, and became like dead men.

One thing that I do know is that a life-changing event occurred just a day or so later.

I was called into the company commander’s office which was very unusual because for someone of my low rank it usually meant that you were in serious trouble. When I went into his office, he asked me if I knew that I had a Type 2 profile on my eyes. “Sir, I do not even know what a Type 2 profile means,” I responded. He explained that it meant that I was legally blind without glasses and as a result, I was unsuitable for combat and could not serve in an infantry unit.

When he told me this I remember thinking to myself, after ten weeks of this hell they somehow just figured this out? After all, my eyes were tested when I first entered the service. But this is how the army seemed to operate. At the time, it never dawned on me that I had just received a huge break. After all, the rest of my unit would most likely to be assigned to an infantry battalion in a few days and then be sent directly to Vietnam. But, I never got to find out. We parted ways that very day, and I never heard from any of them again.

So, certainly my fate could have been quite different. I would never have thought any more about this event if it had not been for its inclusion into my book entitled, “Possess the Vision.” In fact, I had never before made the potential connection between the events of that night and my removal from the infantry unit. Both events were very unusual and occurred within just a few days of each other. The first seemed like an angel must have come down from heaven, but for what purpose? The second event was the unexpected discovery that I could not serve in an infantry unit—one has to wonder why it occurred when it did. It is the time proximity that leads me to wonder if the two events could have been connected.

In most cases this type of association would be classified as a coincidence. It is only after reviewing all the other pieces reported in this blog that I began to see the big picture. By connecting all the circumstantial evidence, it appears that God had been intervening and protecting me all along. So why not in this case as well?

For example, remember the prior section that covered, ‘A Dream of Being as Strong as Superman,’ and the ‘A Premonition of an Automobile Accident,’ and Thea warning of the brick wall in the post, ‘God Warns of Danger then Protects?’ These were all warnings but they were also followed by interventions. In one case the speeding car stopped, in another I pulled my head away, and in the third, the stalled car started on the last turn of the starter. In this case I avoided being sent to Vietnam Nam, most likely as a part of the 4th Infantry division which took almost a third of that war’s casualties.

So, I see this as God’s intervention once again.

Prase to you, Lord Jesus!

